Creating a body of work

IMG_8481

Jeppe Hein’s project massively influenced me to come up with an idea which I feel is more interactive and exciting, similar to his ‘Please Touch The Art Work Project’.

I come up with the idea of leaving multi-coloured pot dolls around the centre of town (as I have had many pot dolls donated to me). The body of work will all be connected and people who see the dolls will be invoked to create conversation. I plan on leaving a note with the doll, in order to encourage the public or the person who finds the doll to place it in another place and take a picture of it there, which they can then send to me, so that I am able to record the movement and activity of the doll. By doing this I will hopefully gain an insight into the activity of other people within the town.

Social Media has become a massive part of our lives in the 21st century with:

  • Around 14 million Monthly Active users for the UK on Instagram, with 39% of its UK users being aged 16-24.
  • A figure of 12.4 million in the UK active on Twitter.
  • Around 30 million people in the UK active on Facebook.

After researching these statistics I am assured that Social Media is a brilliant platform to interactively discuss and share my art work – creating an exciting project which regulates unique and random discussion.

IMG_8435IMG_8436IMG_8437IMG_8438IMG_8439IMG_8440IMG_8441IMG_8442IMG_8443IMG_8444IMG_8445IMG_8446IMG_8447IMG_8448IMG_8449IMG_8450IMG_8451IMG_8452IMG_8454IMG_8456

The process of undressing, spray painting the doll, spray painting the clothing and then redressing the doll is extremely simple and quick. I was able to complete the above 5 dolls in a time period of five hours.

 

Leave a Reply

