Visit to Huncoat Powerstation

With the theme of juxtaposition and textiles in the back of my mind, I took a visit to the Huncoat Powerstation, in order to take some images and look at possible idea’s for my project.

We planned to drive to the scene and go in a group, that way we were safer.

With us we took brightly coloured materials and items, in order to experiment with placing and installing them in the abandoned building.

IMG_3009IMG_3004

We found ways to hang the pieces so that the material would look effective photographed.

IMG_8374IMG_8372IMG_8371IMG_8370IMG_8366

Though this piece was only a rough experiment, it highlighted many problems to me.

  • The colour of the fabrics should be more consistently vibrant to create a more effective depiction.
  • It was difficult to erect the fabrics, in the future I must take nails/ equipment to fix or hook the pieces.
  • If I am to hang pieces of textile as art, I should experiment with more dense pieces

IMG_8229IMG_8231IMG_8234IMG_8241IMG_8249IMG_8266IMG_8267IMG_8268IMG_8269IMG_8292IMG_8293IMG_8299IMG_8319

In the abandoned station there is literally graffiti and colour in every spot which can be physically reached. I thought that it would be interesting to attempt to reach the unreachable. When I was at Art Basel in Switzerland, many of the installations were suspended from the ceiling. If I could possibly suspend a hanging piece from the ceiling, which adds bright vibrant colour – this would be an interesting piece.

IMG_8322IMG_8330IMG_8333IMG_8336

Experimenting with placing my sculpture (colourful cast of a brick wall) in bleak settings..

IMG_8341IMG_8343IMG_8345IMG_8346IMG_8348IMG_8352IMG_8353

Placing my sculpture in such bleak atmosphere’s created a contrast which made it seem even more energetic and exciting. Despite the shots becoming further away, you are still always drawn to the piece, as it is the only piece of beauty which creates positivity and uplift.

The piece represents a glimmer of hope, in what seems to be a hopeless atmosphere. I feel that the juxtaposition which I created within this image is representative of the whole building which we visited. As you walk around you notice the neglect, and how the building has been stripped of absolutely everything, leaving only a shell. This reminded me of a news report which I witnessed when I was younger, in which the reporter remarked that people who live in small failing towns such as Burnley, should simply move to cities – which obviously caused uproar. How unrealistic? But if it was to happen, there would be a ghost town left – similar to the powerstation.

As I’ve been growing up, I’ve gotten used to my town, and the surrounding towns, being displayed in a negative light within the media. I am going to explore such reports as research for my project.

http://www.lancashiretelegraph.co.uk/news/10546334.Shortlist_features_three_East_Lancashire__Crap_Towns_/

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/uk_politics/1959420.stm

Though I enjoyed the aesthetics of the building, and felt as though creating a large colourful sculprure and placing it the powerstation could create some powerful imagery, I realised that an element of my project aims was absent. Within my work, I place a large importance in the reaction of the viewers, and effecting the mood of the viewers. The powerstation is actually off guard to the public, so not many people visit the powerdstation – meaning that I would lack viewer responses.

 

Leave a Reply

