Holton Rower and Dave Kaufman

I come across this video online showing the making process of a piece of art by Dave Kaufman and Holton Rower. This video hence makes the process a performance, and watching the paint pour is a satisfying and aesthetically pleasing movement.

Kaufman and Rower rely on gravity and placing of the pouring to create the different organic patterns.

Seeing these pieces, after also researching Damien Hirst, inspired me to conduct an experiment. I wanted to create a juxtaposition in a similar way to Hirst, witch his piece ‘The Fragility of Love’, whilst adopting a technique similar to Rower’s and Kaufmans.

For my first experiment, I decided to mix gouache and oil paint. Though this was unsuccessful for creating a opaque paint (for which I was aiming) – due to gouache being water based, it did create an interesting style when dripped on the paper, as the droplets became separated an organically dispersed:

I felt that the knowledge of this mistake may come to use in the future!

After my mistake, I then decided to mix oil paints with vegetable oil, to make the paint able to pour. In order to create a juxtaposition and an organic flow I decided to run the mixes down the blade of a knife. I just bright primary colours, which reference childhood and happiness:

IMG_0480

IMG_0482
IMG_0483

IMG_0496

Though the paint was now able to pour and flowed successfully down the blade, it did not create the opaque and vibrant marks which I had hoped for. Also, once the paints dripped onto the paper, they mixed and creates a dull brown colour – exactly what I wasn’t hoping for!

I then decided to experiment with using plaster, in order to make the mix thicker. I mixed water with gouache paints, to create coloured liquids, and then poured in the plaster. As I have worked with dying plaster and manipulating it in Unit 5, I was familiar with the procedure.

IMG_0500

IMG_0506

IMG_0512

IMG_0515

IMG_0518

IMG_0519

IMG_0526

IMG_0528

IMG_0529

My experiment went well, though I think that next time it would be wiser to pour the plaster earlier, as it becoming slightly too thick once I had began pouring it during this experiment. My ideas were to apply this style and technique to a larger, outdoor installation, maybe adopting a similar nature to Claes Oldenburg.

Leave a Reply

