Unit 1-6 and an evaluation

Here is a link to my blogs for Units 1-6:

http://www.ciarabrownualfadblackburn.wordpress.com

 

12722259_10154183808094893_943939072_o

Above is my feedback sheet from from Units 1-6. Overall the feedback was positive though it was mentioned that I should carry out more research for my Unit 7 project, and make sure that I understand and engage with the research more thoroughly – whilst making connections with their work and my own practice.

Unit 5/6 Evaluation

Initially, my unit five project was only bounded by the term’Outdoor Installation’, as I had realised that it was a type of art which I was particularly interested in. My interest in this particular type of art sparked as I started to visit more cities. In a visit to London I saw an interesting sculpture made out of pots and pans, outside the Victoria and Albert Museum:

IMG_0254

In Liverpool, dotted around the city there are ‘Lambananas’:

year of 08

On the island in Stockholm, where a lot of the art galleries are, there  are many surreal outdoor sculptures dotted around:

 

Seeing these sparked an interest. At first it was the idea of the art work becoming part of the city in which it is placed, often dominating a space – or becoming a part of their identity . The fact that the art works are seen by people, all walks of life, who may not be interested as art as a hobby, as they pass the sculptures and are addressed by them. The idea of art being bounded by the walls of a gallery seems less interesting to me, than having it juxtapose against the everyday settings – which is why I wish to engage with outdoor sculptures/art works.

After visiting Blackburn museum, and seeing the mummy – I was influenced to look at the art of wrapping and how it can be explored and pushed. Artists such as Christo and Jeanne-Claude have exhausted the  art, with pieces such as the wrapping of the Reichstag in Berlin:

Wrapped Reichstag, Berlin, 1971-95

As well as Penique Productions, who wrap the insides of structures:

Penique productions inflate giant rooms, in order for them to engulf the space of the room and create an extra layer. This hense creates in interesting aesthetic in places where the light is shining through the block colour skin and in places where it appears to be vacuum packed the to exterior.

I was influenced by the work of Penique productions to create a ‘bubble wrap room’. It was proposed to me that there would be an opportunity to create an interactive space – which both children and adults would appreciate and enjoy. I brainstormed, and come up with the idea of a bubble wrap room, after discussing the idea with many people, and coming to an agreement that most adults and children have found great satisfaction in popping bubble wrap, whether that be to relieve stress or just simply listen to the sounds of the popping. I used brightly coloured lighting equipment to enhance the experience of the interactive room. With there being no window, the lighting was all artificial, and seemed surreal as it illuminated the whole room.

Doing this project brought to light too me how important bright colours are to children. Jan Vormann, is an artist who rebuilds ruined walls using lego bricks. His concept remarks that we are brought up as children playing with brightly coloured objects, and fall in love with varieties of vibrant colours, to then be filtered out into dull urban societies. I also feel passionately about the neglect of colour in urban society – which is why I chose to follow a theme of bright colours within my experiments.

Following a crit in class, I decided that due to my theme of ‘outdoor installation’ and with me being new to the town of Blackburn, that  I should centre my project within and around the town. One thing that puts Blackburn on the map – something which many of the residents are familiar with – is a verse of The Beatles song ‘A Day in the Life’ which says, ‘4000 holes in Blackburn Lancashire’. I thought that it would be quite fun and humourous to adopt this as a starting point for my project.

I decided to talk a walk around my new town, looking for ‘holes’ to which I could base my project around. I photographed any interesting holes on a map, and marked their location on a printed out map, as well as a record of the journey, so that if I wished to revisit the holes, I would know remember their location.

Seeing Juliana Herrera’s work, of potholes filled with yarn, influenced me to begin experimenting with fabrics as a material to ‘fill’ the holes with. Blackburn holds a strong history, of being one of the most important cotton producers in the world in the 19th century . I decided to experiment with weaving, after seeing the loom machines in the museum which used to be used in the factories of Blackburn.

Within unit 1-5 I developed many new skills which I can apply to my current and future practice. With filling the holes with weaves, I developed skills in a process. In order make this project successful I had to measure the hole, build the frame, create the weave and install the weave. I also learnt to appreciate the fitting of the weave, as a performance, as it was done out in the public. With this project, I learn’t how to use a loom machine. I also experimented with mediums such as plaster, resin and drawing.

My university applications were quite diverse, to Chelsea College of Art and London College of Communication I have applied to Spatial Design, at Brighton, Goldsmiths and Central Saint Martins I have applied for the Fine Art courses. My main interest is working in a way which directly interacts with the public, as a whole, not just in an art galleries – which is why I chose to apply for Spatial Design as well as Fine Art.

 

Leave a Reply

